Summer Student Program

at Joint Institute for Nuclear Research

Fields of research

Theoretical and Mathematical Physics 
BLTP small
The studies conducted at the JINR Laboratory of Theoretical Physics are aimed at building theoretical models based on the concepts of gauge symmetry, supersymmetry, duality and integrability, and their application to the description of the properties and interactions of elementary particles. In the field of theoretical nuclear physics the following topics are studied: structural features of superheavy and exotic nuclei; dynamics of nuclear interaction at low and medium energies with generation of both stable and radioactive nuclei-products; fundamental properties of various systems with a small number of particles and development of mathematically rigorous and effective methods to calculate their properties; high-energy nuclear reactions; properties of nuclear matter and its phase transitions at extreme temperatures and densities.



Particle Physics
NICA1In the JINR Laboratory of High Energy Physics, a megaproject «NICA complex» (Nuclotron based Ion Collider fAcility) is being implemented. The project is aimed at studying nuclear matter under extreme conditions of the early stages of the Universe evolution, but in the laboratory environment. At the facility, intense beams of heavy ions and polarized nuclei will be collided in order to search for the mixed phase of nuclear matter. The studies of the properties of nuclear matter and particle structure are conducted by the JINR employees at ALICE, ATLAS, and CMS at CERN LHC; the electron-positron collider BES-III in China; the GSI and FAIR accelerator complexes in Germany; the STAR detector at the BNL RHIC collider, USA; neutrino experiments at OPERA, BOREXINO, JUNO, and NOvA. As one of the pioneers in the research of neutrino oscillations, JINR is constructing a deep-water neutrino telescope at Lake Baikal, intended for the study of cosmic ultrahigh-energy neutrino fluxes and search for dark matter candidate particles.


Nuclear Physics 
U400M
In the JINR Laboratory of Nuclear Reactions, the construction of the Factory of SuperHeavy Elements (SHE) is coming to its end. At the SHE Factory, the study of the synthesis of superheavy elements and exploration of the stability island will be continued. The Factory based on the new cyclotron DC-280 will be part of a larger project DRIBs-III (Dubna Radioactive Ion Beams - III). DRIBs-III is aimed at considerable improvement of the efficiency of the experiments on the synthesis and study of the properties of superheavy elements and light nuclei at the boundary of the nucleus stability, as well as extension of the set of experiments with beams of radioactive nuclides.




Neutron Physics
IBR2
On the basis of the JINR Laboratory of Neutron Physics, two neutron sources are operated: fast neutron pulsed reactor IBR-2 and intense resonance neutron source IREN. These facilities allow conducting research on the breaking of fundamental symmetries in nuclear interactions, studying the physics of ultra-cold neutrons, developing application methods in neutron nuclear physics.






Investigations of Neutron Nuclear Interactions and Properties of the Neutron
Development of Experimental Facilities for Condensed Matter Investigations with Beams of the IBR-2 Facility
Development of the IBR-2 Facility with a Complex of Cryogenic Neutron Moderators

Condensed Matter Physics 
Cond matter
In the laboratories of the Institute, theoretical and experimental research in condensed matter physics is carried out. It includes spectroscopic studies of hydrogen bonding; behavior of surfactants, polymers and their mixtures in the volume and on the surface; study of plasmonic nanostructures in the pores of silicon oxide using Raman, SERS and CARS spectroscopy methods; structural analysis of complex nano- and micromaterials using small-angle neutron scattering; computer simulation of the tunnel characteristics of superconducting nanostructures, etc.








Networking, Computing, Computational Physics 
GRIDJINR Laboratory of Information Technology ensures creation and further development of the JINR information and computer infrastructure, methods, algorithms and software for the modeling of physics systems, mathematical processing and analysis of experimental data. The following areas are being developed:  monitoring of distributed information and computer systems; data storage systems and technologies; parallel programming technologies MPI, OpenMP, CUDA, MPI+CUDA; hybrid architectures; Big Data; cloud technologies; development of information systems; development and analysis of mathematical models of quantum computing and quantum information; information methods of data and social networks analysis; computational methods in physics; mathematical methods for simulation of complex physics systems; development of algorithms of parallel computing; mathematical methods and software for processing of experimental data.


Radiobiology
LRB
In the JINR Laboratory of Radiobiology, theoretical and experimental issues of biological effects of heavy charged particles of different energies are studied. Cosmic dust and organic compounds in meteorites and ancient terrestrial rocks are also investigated by nuclear physics methods. It allows obtaining data that may reveal the background of the origin of terrestrial and extraterrestrial life. 





Nuclotron
In the JINR Laboratory of Nuclear Problems, Laboratory of Nuclear Reactions, Laboratory of Neutron Physics, and Laboratory of High Energy Physics, components of modern accelerator equipment required for setting up and conducting research in various fields of fundamental and applied nuclear physics are designed and developed. These components include radio-frequency systems, high-voltage electronics, various magnetic systems, cryogenics, automatic control systems, vacuum systems, ion sources, diagnostics of charged particle beams, radiometrics.





Development of the JINR Basic Facility for Generation of Intense Heavy Ion and Polarized Nuclear Beams Aimed at Searching for the Mixed Phase of Nuclear Matter and Investigation of Polarization Phenomena at the Collision Energies up to  sqrt= 11 GeV
Advanced Studies on Systems of New-Generation Accelerators and Colliders for Fundamental and Applied Research

Particle Detectors
MPD
As part of the «NICA complex» creation, a multi-purpose detector NICA MPD (Multi Purpose Detector) will be built. It will represent a 4p-spectrometer capable of detecting charged hadrons, electrons, and photons, which emerge in heavy ions collisions. To achieve this goal, a 3D tracking system and a highly-productive system of particle types identification based on time-of-flight measurements and calorimetry will be implemented as part of MPD. The following types of particle detectors are developed in the laboratories of the Institute: semiconductor detectors; time projection chamber (TPC); time-of-flight systems (mRPC); electromagnetic calorimeter (shashlyk type) with a SiPM readout (ECal); cathode chambers and GEM detectors for tracking systems; analogue preamplifiers for particle detectors; TDC and ADC digital systems; data acquisition system; simulation of physics processes in heavy ion collisions; detector based on thin-walled straw tubes to work in vacuum; gallium arsenide pixel detectors.

Novel Semiconductor Detectors for Fundamental and Applied Research
Study of Polarization Phenomena and Spin Effects at the JINR Nuclotron-M Facility
ATLAS. Upgrade of the ATLAS Detector and Physics Research at the LHC
CMS. Compact Muon Solenoid at the LHC

Applied Research Using Nuclear Physics Methods
MT ComplexOne of the most widespread use of accelerators and nuclear physics methods in applied research is that in nuclear medicine. The Medical-Technical Complex created on the basis of the Laboratory of Nuclear Problems allows conducting proton therapy and radio surgery studies. Application of the method of marked neutrons at JINR has enabled designing and further commercialization of detectors of dangerous chemical substances in enclosed volumes.





You are here: Home Fields of research

Летняя студенческая программа

в Объединённом Институте Ядерных Исследований

Направления исследований

Теоретическая  и математическая физика 
BLTP smallВ лаборатории теоретической физики ОИЯИ проводятся исследования, целью которых является построение теоретических моделей на основе концепций калибровочной симметрии, суперсимметрии, дуальности и интегрируемости, и их применение к описанию свойств и взаимодействий элементарных частиц. В области теоретической ядерной физики проводится изучение особенностей структуры сверхтяжелых и экзотических ядер; исследование динамики взаимодействия ядер при низких и средних энергиях с образованием как стабильных, так и радиоактивных ядер-продуктов; изучение фундаментальных свойств разнообразных систем малого числа частиц и развитие математически строгих и эффективных методов расчета их свойств; изучение реакций при высоких энергиях с участием атомных ядер, свойств ядерной материи и ее фазовых превращений при экстремальных температурах и плотностях. 


Физика элементарных частиц
NICA1В Лаборатории физики высоких энергий ОИЯИ реализуется Мегапроект «Коплекс NICA» (Nuclotron based Ion Collider fAcility) предназначенный для исследования в лабораторных условиях ядерной материи в экстремальных условиях, возникавших на ранних этапах эволюции Вселенной. На будущем коллайдере будут сталкиваться интенсивные пучки тяжелых ионов и поляризованных ядер с целью поиска смешанной фазы ядерной материи. Исследования свойств ядерной материи и структуры частиц проводятся сотрудниками ОИЯИ на экспериментах ALICE, ATLAS и CMS Большого адронного коллайдера в CERN, электрон-позитронном коллайдере BES-III  в Китае, на ускорительных комплексах GSI и FAIR в Германии, установке STAR на коллайдере RHIC в BNL, США, нейтринных экспериментах OPERA, BOREXINO, JUNO и NOvA. Являясь одним из пионеров исследований осцилляций нейтрино ОИЯИ создает глубоководный нейтринный телескоп на озере Байкал, для исследований потоков космических нейтрино сверхвысоких энергий и  поиска частиц-кандидатов на роль темной материи. 


Ядерная физика
 
U400MВ лаборатории ядерных реакций ОИЯИ заканчивается создание фабрики сверхтяжелых элементов (СТЭ) на которой будут продолжены исследования по синтезу СТЭ и исследования острова стабильности.  Данная фабрика на базе нового циклотрона DC-280 станет частью большого проекта DRIBs-III (Dubna Radioactive Ion Beams – III) целью которого является существенное повышение эффективности проведения экспериментов по синтезу и изучению свойств СТЭ, а также легких ядер на границах нуклонной стабильности, расширению программы экспериментов с пучками радиоактивных нуклидов. 



Нейтронная физика
IBR2На базе Лаборатории нейтронной физики ОИЯИ функционируют два источника нейтронов: импульсный реактор на быстрых нейтронах ИБР-2 и импульсный источник резонансных нейтронов ИРЕН. С помощью этих источников проводятся исследования по нарушению фундаментальных симметрий во взаимодействиях нейтронов с ядрами, изучается физика ултра-холодных нейтронов, развиваются прикладные методы в нейтронной ядерной физике.




Исследования взаимодействия нейтронов с ядрами и свойств нейтрона
Развитие экспериментальной базы для проведения исследований конденсированных сред на пучках ИЯУ ИБР-2
Развитие исследовательской ядерной установки ИБР-2 с комплексом криогенных замедлителей нейтронов

Физика конденсированных сред
Cond matterВ лабораториях Института проводятся теоретические и экспериментальные исследований по физике конденсированного состояния, включая: спектроскопические исследования соединений с водородной связью; поведение поверхностно-активных веществ, полимеров и их смесей в объеме и на поверхности; исследование плазмонных наноструктур в порах оксида кремния методами Рамоновской, SERS и CARS спектроскопии; структурный анализ сложных нано и микро материалов, использующий малоугловое рассеяние нейтронов; компьютерное моделирование туннельных характеристик сверхпроводящих наноструктур и многие другие. 


 


Радиобиологические исследования
 

LRBВ лаборатории радиобиологии ОИЯИ изучаются теоретические и экспериментальные вопросы биологического действия тяжелых заряженных частиц различных энергий.  Также методами ядерной физики исследуются космическая пыль и органические соединения в метеоритах и древних земных породах для получения данных о предпосылках возникновения земной и внеземной жизни.









Сети, компьютинг, вычислительная физика
 
GRIDЛаборатория информационных технологий ОИЯИ обеспечивает создание и развитие информационно-вычислительной инфраструктуры ОИЯИ и создания методов, алгоритмов и программного обеспечения для моделирования физических систем, математической обработки и анализа экспериментальных данных. Следующие направления развиваются в ЛИТ: мониторинг распределенных информационных и вычислительных систем; системы и технологии хранения данных; технологии параллельного программирования MPI, OpenMP, CUDA, MPI+CUDA; гибридные архитектуры; Big Data; облачные технологии; разработка информационных систем; развитие и анализ математических моделей квантовых вычислений и квантовой информации; информационные методы анализа данных и социальных сетей; вычислительные методы в физике; математические методы для моделирования сложных физических систем; разработка алгоритмов параллельных вычислений; математические методы и программное обеспечение для обработки экспериментальных данных.

Ускорительная техника
Nuclotron
В лаборатории ядерных проблем, лаборатории ядерных реакций, лаборатории нейтронной физики и лаборатории физики высоких энергий ОИЯИ проектируются и создаются компоненты современной ускорительной техники, необходимой для постановки и проведения исследований в различных областях фундаментальной и прикладной ядерной физики. Эти компоненты включают радиочастотные системы,высоковольтную электронику, различные магнитные системы, криогенику, автоматические системы контроля, вакуумные системы, ионные источники диагностику пучков заряженных частиц, радиометрию.


Развитие экспериментальной базы ОИЯИ для получения интенсивных пучков тяжелых ионов и поляризованных ядер с целью поиска смешанной фазы ядерной материи и исследования поляризационных эффектов в области энергий до  √S NN = 11 ГэВПерспективные разработки систем ускорителей и коллайдеров нового поколения для фундаментальных и прикладных целей

Детекторы частиц 

MPD
В рамках создания «Комплекса НИКА» будет построен многоцелевой детектор NICA MPD (Multi Purpose Detector), который будет представлять 4p спектрометр способный регистрировать заряженные адроны, электроны и фотоны, возникающие при соударениях тяжелых ионов. Для достижения этой цели в составе MPD будет реализована трех-мерная трековая система и высоко-производительная система отождествления типов частиц, основанная на времени-пролетных измерения и калориметрии. В лабораториях Института разрабатываются и создаются следующие типы детекторов частиц:  полупроводниковые детекторы; временные проекционные камеры (TPC); времени-пролетные системы (mRPC); электромагнитные калориметры шашлычного типа с выходом SiPM (ECal); катодные камеры и GEM детекторы для трековых систем; аналоговые предусилители для детекторов частиц; цифровые системы TDC и ADC; системы сбора данных; моделирование физических процессов в соударениях тяжелых ионов; детектор на основе тонкостенных дрейфовых трубок (строу) для работы в вакууме; пиксельные детекторы на основе арсенида галлия. 

Новые полупроводниковые детекторы для фундаментальных и прикладных исследований
Изучение поляризационных явлений и спиновых эффектов на ускорительном комплексе Нуклотрон-М ОИЯИ
ATLAS. Модернизация установки и физические исследования на LHC
CMS. Компактный мюонный соленоид на LHC

Прикладные исследования с применением методов ядерной физики
MT Complex
Одним из наиболее распространенных применений ускорителей и ядерно-физических методов в прикладных исследованиях является их применение в ядерной медицине. На базе лаборатории ядерных проблем создан медико-технический комплекс в котором проводятся исследования по протонной терапии и радио-хирургии. С использованием метода меченных нейтронов в ОИЯИ были разработаны, а затем коммерциализированы, детекторы опасных химических веществ, находящихся в закрытых объемах. 










Совершенствование Фазотрона ЛЯП и разработка циклотронов для физических и прикладных исследований
Проведение медико-биологических и радиационно-генетических исследований с использованием различных типов ионизирующих излучений
Вы здесь: Главная Направления исследований